NINA SIMONE’S NINA REVISITED…A TRIBUTE TO NINA SIMONE ALBUM REVIEW


Track Listing:

1. My Mama Could Sing ( Intro) – Lisa Simone
2. Feeling Good – Lauryn Hill
3. I’ve Got Life – Lauryn Hill
4. Ne Me Quitte Pas – Lauryn Hill
5. Baltimore – Jazmine Sullivan
6. Love Me Or Leave Me – Grace
7. My Baby Just Cares For Me – Usher
8. Dont Let Me Be Misunderstood – Mary J Blige
9. Sinnerman – Gregory Porter
10.We Are Young Gifted And Black – Common And Lalah Hathaway
11. I Put A Spell On You – Alice Smith
12. I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl – Lisa Simone
13. Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair – Lauryn Hill
14. Wild Is The Wind – Lauryn Hill
15. African Mailman (Instrumental)
16. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free – Nina Simone

I really done know how Nina Simone really sounds like in her own tracks but giving her a salute for creating beautiful music done by different great artist in Nina Revisited… A Tribute To Nina Simone. This 16 track album is filled of fantastic classic sounds made current and done by award winning artist. Giving a nice mellow sound for the Intro My Mama Could Sing done by Lisa Simone. I Got Life gives the Lauryn Hill sound put in Nina Simone song with the rap hip hop feel. A beautiful French song, Ne Me Quitte Pas sang by Lauryn Hill and very soulful. Giving the African vibe for Baltimore track by Jazmine Sullivan and it’s very cool down song. Grace funk version of Love Me Or Leave Me with it funky sound. Usher giving his version of My Baby Just Cares For Me putting the song it’s R&B feel. With the smooth version of Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood sang by Mary J Blige and followed by Gregory Porter’s Sinnerman giving a nice feel to the song. Giving a hip hop blend with We Are Young Gifted And Black with Common And Lalah Hathaway gives another R&B tone to this Nina Simone’s classic. Alice Smith gives a haunting feel for the song I Put A Spell On You and gives love with the symphony. Lisa Simone’s I Want Some Sugar In My Bowl gives jazz and amazing vocal. Giving a strong instrumental for African Mailman with the reggae feel on the song. Hearing songs like this makes me a fan.

Leave a Reply

