CHICHI DID CONDURA SKYWAY MARATHON 2016

I would like to open my year in running to all Fun Run with medals but I guess, I will do this next year na lang. Then, my partner told me that he is running a fun run for Philippine soldiers. The event, Condura Skyway Marathon 2016. I’m not really into running but lets go try this out. And the great thing about the run, there’s a medal.

20160207_034651.jpg

THE CONDURA SKYWAY MARATHON 2016 RUNNING KIT

This is my first fun run and I admit that im excited.This run is for the children of Filipino soldiers. The shirt for this run is a red tshirt, I am thinking its a singlet. Before the day before the run, am studying the 6K route map and found out that we are going to run Alabang to Sucat route and back. I admit that i dont practice or warm up for this event. Come what may is it.

THE 6K ROUTE, THE PARKING ON THE RACE DAY AND ME WEARING MY SHIRT FOR THE RUN

My partnet, Dave and his officemate Randy (who runs almost all fun runs) went to the venue early cause they are running 10 K while I’ll be running all alone in 6K. Also we didnt get our tshirt for the run. The kit include the runner’s number which i got 21060, the red tshirt and the thing you put in your shoes (I forgot what’s its called).

20160207_041521

FROM THE LEFT, RANDY, DAVE AND ME BEFORE THE GO TO THE STARTING LINE FOR THEIR 10K RUN.

20160207_051838

THE STARTING LINE

As the time 5 AM fast approaching, I started to stand up from the sidewalk am seated at. Started to stretch and move my joints. 15 minutes before the run, I started walking towards the starting point which is a tunnel going to the Skyway. I am still excited cause this road is for vehicles but here i am, going to run. Then the excitement been pumped up with the loud music and the emcee. The runners for the 6K are divided into 2 cluster and I belong to the second one. Then the countdown started for the first cluster and after 3 minutes, off we go.

20160207_061038

ME AT THE U-TURN

Then the run for our cluster started and we are a wave of people invading the road to Skyway. Yes, I run a little but because am wearing the wrong shoes. I am wearing Airmax and its super heavy. I tried running from the tunnel to the part where it’s ascending. And its a wrong move and my legs hurts bad. Am not even 1/4 to the marathon. So I decided just to walk, and hurt and walk. It started to rain a little. There are adult, teens and even kids. I’m just worried cause its raining and they might get sick.

ME FINISHING THE RUN AND LOOK!!! MY MEDAL!!!

I know that this supposed to be a fun event, but accidents do happen. Three (I think) died in the said race. One of them even collapse in front of me when I’m walking going to the finish line. He collapsed,carried above the concrete barriers and rush to the hospital in a jeepney. I must admit that it gave me goosebumps. My legs are hurting but i need to finish the race. When i am about to reach the finish line, I stopped and take a selfie. After crossing the finish line, my legs really hurt. Then i fall in line to get the goodie bag and the medal. Im happy to have my very first run with a medal be proud of.

Leave a Reply

